SailNet Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year of racing our new to us Precision 23 (1984 edition). We've done pretty well, but lack polish and could do a lot better. This post is about instrumentation, which I've found is a discouragingly vast topic. Someone showed me the ProStart unit by Velocitek. It would be very good for starts, having GPS-WAAS capability for marking the start line. I can't see in the literature whether it can plot a course or save waypoints.
I hope to learn the best choice or choices for my purposes, which may include plotting a GPS WAAS course that I can save. If this course could be overlaid on a chart, that would be so much the better.
I've seen that I could easily break my small budget in trying different units that look good, but out of so many dozens I get depressed just thinking about learning enough to make the buy decisions properly and only once.

Thank you all in advance for your experienced suggerstions and advice.

·
Registered
231 Posts
I ended up getting a Lowrance chartplotter/fishfinder (Lowrance Elite-5 DSI) for instrumentation on our boat. It can plot your course as well as give depth and speed, all for ~$400. I had looked at things like the "Speedpuck" or other sailing specific instrumentation, but all of those tended to cost the same or more than the Lowrance with less functionality. Admittedly, the Lowrance doesn't have the sailboat racing functionality that you may be looking for, but it does work very well as a speedometer and depthfinder. You might consider a sailing app on your smartphone for some of the racing timers etc. as well. YMMV

·
I don't discuss my member
2,557 Posts
Depth sounder is nice but a handheld GPS is a must. You NEED boatspeed and speed over ground. Other than that, it's just getting Gucci.

·
Registered
231 Posts