SailNet Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,556 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was at the Maine Boatbuilders show this weekend and there was a company(Quickline) with a new anchor design that was pretty interesting. It looks very similar to all the new generation type anchors like the Mantus, Manson and Rocna. What makes their anchor different is that they load the fluke with lead and the shank is hollow. This gives the shank positive buoyancy and eliminates the need for a roll-bar. The shank also has a fairly high rise to assist in rolling the anchor over to its proper orientation.

Not endorsing them in any way as I have no direct experience. Just wanted to present the info for discussion.

Ultra Anchors | Stainless Steel Anchors | Quickline USA

Let's try to stay away from the fact that they are SS and very expensive and focus on the design concept.

Apologize for claiming they are new. I should have said new to me.

·
Registered
5,111 Posts
Well, they're hardly new, the Ultras have been around for quite some time, now... Personally, I see very little difference between them, and the aluminum Spade, in their essential design...

"Buoyancy of the shank" ??? Hmmm, not so sure about that one... :)

Last one to try adding 'floatation' to an anchor was Hydro Bubble, that didn't work out so well... :)

·
Registered
23,884 Posts
I've seen them before. I wonder about the strength of the shank. I will only mention that SS as a further strength limiter, as opposed to the bling. Not sure why they chose it.

Also, sea beds are not always flat, so being able to flip over by weight won't always work. The roll bar would prevent the anchor from entering upside down between narrow rocks (sort of). No perfect anchor.

I think these are targeted to the weekend relatively fair weather boat, rather than the cruiser. JMO.

Reactions: kentobin

·
Bristol 45.5 - AiniA
4,526 Posts