SailNet Community banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello. Trying to see if it's ok to use iPad with Navionics or other apps instead of marine GPS/Chart plotters that are made for marine navigation. I use my iPad 4 with Navionics boating locally and it works great for me but trying to see if its ok to take it further lets say to Abacos Bahamas ?

Thank You !

·
Freedom isn't free
3,137 Posts
It'll work... to a point.
The charts are technically the same. Of course it won't hold up well to environmental elements (you can get a case so it will)...

resolution isn't great, but it works.

Of course some data won't update without WIFI or cellular, but you CAN pre-download local charts with a connection.

I've been using Navionics for about 3 years now, on 3 different devices, iPhone 4, Android Moto Razr Maxx, and now my Galaxy S4. I guess technically I've used 4 devices because I ran it also on my Galaxy Tab 2 (which has a stellar screen for it).. that version costs more, but then the device is way larger... it's still a bargain at like $45.

but yeah It'll work OK, and works well as a backup for larger voyages to a real chart plotter.

·
Administrator
8,379 Posts
trying to see if its ok to take it further lets say to Abacos Bahamas ?
!
Yes, the Abacos are as far as GPS goes.

It used to cover the whole world but that Obama bloke (I'm not American, we have a Queen) nerfed it because Russia shot out a few satellites. No one knows of this, of course. Its all hush hush cos of some CIA thing. But the NY Times has an article on their website about it, but that got pulled... However we can prove it happened cos some folks got screenshots. Just google: CIA GPS Conspiracy.

Anyway, futher past the Abacos and you're stuffed. Even the Exumas are dodgy.

·
Super Moderator
6,819 Posts