SailNet Community banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
729 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Apparently there is a Lenovo miix 2 tablet with this capability. Seems like there should be other choices out there, but after talking to the apple folks there is nothing in their product line that has this capability other than using wi fi which is useless off shore. I've been using a garmin product for over 5 years now that fits on my wrist that tells me my speed while I jog that has the built in gps antenna. You would think that tablets could have this capability without having to get a service contract with the phone company.

·
Registered
3,262 Posts
You don't have to have a service contract on an ipad to use the GPS. But you do have to buy one with the capability.

The other option is to buy a wifi only ipad and a bluetooth GPS. But this is the same price as buying the 3G version in the first place.

·
Registered
9,376 Posts
I have a Asus Vivo Tab Smart with a built in GPS.

Open CPN and Centrafuse Localizer are the programs I use.

I recently added Navionics Central and South America

·
Registered
5,613 Posts
Apparently there is a Lenovo miix 2 tablet with this capability. Seems like there should be other choices out there, but after talking to the apple folks there is nothing in their product line that has this capability other than using wi fi which is useless off shore. I've been using a garmin product for over 5 years now that fits on my wrist that tells me my speed while I jog that has the built in gps antenna. You would think that tablets could have this capability without having to get a service contract with the phone company.
I have both Miix2 8" model and iPad.