SailNet Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7,152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Maybe this will turn into the usual CC knocking heads but I hope not.
I’m relatively new to long term Eastern Caribbean cruising so don’t feel I have an adequate sample over time. Still since 2013 every year it seems windier. I look at the usual gribs and watch Chris and it seems this is true both for the windwards and leewards but more apparent the further south you are. Is this a simple bump in the road or am I going to be in high teens low twenties most days even not counting gusts and compression zones.

·
Registered
3,878 Posts
I'm not sure about it being windier, but high teens low twenties is about what we've always experienced in the East Caribe since the 90's. Particularly now. Summer will bring some lower winds, but these are called the trade winds for a reason.

Mark

·
Administrator
7,167 Posts
The Trade Winds are windy. All of the time.
I felt it had a cumulative effect and by my last years I was getting a bit annoyed by it. But I don't think it's getting stronger.
I had a large wall clock in my cabin about 5 feet from my head but I could never hear it tick in the Trades either Caribbean or Pacific, Indian Ocean. As soon as I head north out of the Trades like when I arrive in New York or Europe I have to take the clock out of the cabin because it's far too loud to sleep with.

Mark

·
Registered
1,813 Posts
I’m a fan of Jennifer Lawrence, a Rutgers meteorologist who specializes in wind currents.

Her take is that yes CC is changing our winds but you have to do some very serious statistical work to pick the signal out of the noise. She predicts this trend will get stronger over time, but as of now normal folks can’t detect it.

She has given some pretty interesting talks which have been video taped and put on you tube. Smart lady, good info for sailors.

·
Master Mariner
8,371 Posts