SailNet Community banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Quick question, and I've tried searching a bunch of different things, but looking to get another few opinions, since I wasn't able to find much.

I'm refitting my Excalibur 26 and changing to a hinged mast step. I've purchased a stainless hinge from Ballenger Spars, and now I'm faced with finding the best way to attach the existing aluminum mast step to the upper hinge plate, with regards to sealing off the two different metals. I'm no expert, but I've gathered that having the two touching is less than ideal. So... any particular material I should look for, to make a sort of washer between the two? And as far as sealing the stainless bolts as well? This is my first venture into these things, and I want to make sure I do it as close to right as I can.

And then I have to decide what to use for backing plates for the stanchions. I need 14 in total, and while I would love to use SS for all of them, it's a little much of an outlay at the moment. The existing bolts are a little long, but not sure they're long enough to add anything too thick, such as a 1" whatever.. I've heard people mention using aluminum plates, and if I go that route, I'm faced with the dilemma of what to do with having the steel bolts mated through aluminum.

Thoughts? Advice? Suggestions?

Many thanks!

·
Registered
17 Posts
I suggest you to go with zinc materials. Its now the summer time and the aluminum or zinc can corrode quickly. Aluminum will be bit on costlier side, but got a long life as compare to zinc in marine world.

Also you can try for the combination of both. Aluminum plates with zinc bolt.

·
Over Hill Sailing Club
3,688 Posts