SailNet Community banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ahoy,

I'm a newbie to offshore passage making (1 gulf crossing, 4 Galveston to Port A runs & 1 FFL to St Augustine) and am looking at moving my 41' Morgan Classic to Jordan Pt. on the James River in May. Any advice? Links I can read? Most of the posts I've found talk about North to South. I did read some of the Cape Hatteras posts but, they talk about early spring/ late fall.

What I think I know:
1. Don't try it in any north winds
2. Stay away from Cape Hatteras
3. Take the ditch if there is any questions

Specifically I'd like to know:
1. Should I grab the near edge, far edge, or middle of the Gulf Stream?
2. Where should I get in/out?
3. What are the max winds I should consider in my weather window?
4. S? SE? SW?
5. Can I use only VHF for weather?
6. Best/worst ports in a storm?
7. Can I expect to make it in 10 days max with a good window?
8. What kind of seas can I expect in a good weather window?
9. Should I hire someone with local knowledge and experience?
10. Anything and everything else

P.S. The boat is in a lot better shape than I am. New sails, standing & running rigging, multiple anchors, new chain, lots of safety stuff including life raft and EPIRBs, ditch bag, chart plotter w/ radar, good motor…ect

Capt. Shad

·
美国华人, 帆船
2,528 Posts
I think you are on the right tract and I trust that you will be fine. Just watch the weather window, you will have a nice ride and enjoy the GS at its finest.

At any cost, duck into port or sail east

Too late to duck if you are there already, sail east

If your boat can go in ICW, sure.

It is not so easy to know exactly where you are relatively to the current. Use water temp to guide you and speed gained over boat speed.

Charleston or Wilmington is nice.

Depending on your skills and boat, I would keep it under 30 kn. If the wind is coming from the north 15 kn in the GS is too much for me, why beat your self up?

4. S? SE? SW?