SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys and gals,

I am still on the hard. I have been fighting weather, waiting on parts and just enjoying the view of the 60 ton lift going back and forth all day. It's loud.:mad:

Check out this gap. I have tightened the keel bolts. They didn't budge nary a nano-bit. They seem as solid as can be. The rust stain isn't actually rust. It's sediment I stirred up in the bilge. So, the bilge is leaking through the bolts. The reason I know this is since I opened the gap the bilge pump doesn't go off anymore. It all leaks out. What a SL of rain, I tell ya.

Before I knew the extent of the gap, I had spoken to West System and was recommended Gflex 655 to fill the hairline. Now that I have knocked out the bluish filler (bondo?) I am thinking of filling the thoroughly cleaned gap with the 655 and then glassing it in with a thin layer of cloth. Is this foolish?

I am new to this, very capable of doing the work, but with all the choices out there, I am needing more expertise. Anyone?

She's a 1977 Orion S&S 35.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
6,773 Posts
You..

You can try to band-aid it but I wouldn't. You have both internal and external leaks. Sealing one or the other will only trap stagnant water devoid of oxygen which will then eat your keel bolts for lunch.

You really are a prime candidate for a keel reset. If she didn't leak water from inside to out, or the reverse, you could possibly patch it up from the out side after majorly drying it but you have it bad. You really need to drop the keel and re-bed it.

·
Registered
1,830 Posts