SailNet Community banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was really curious why keel stepped mast is generally considered better than deck stepped (providing compression post is in good shape)? In my search I found keel stepped boats tend to be more expensive but what does it really mean to a weekender sailer who would venture out 5-10 miles off the shore?

Also, about the mast, is double spreader much better than a single spreaders? yes, I get the theory of the mast being supported in more places but again what does this translates to when you are sailing?

As always, much appreciate the time anyone puts in to reply.

Thanks

val

·
Registered
2,454 Posts
Single spreader vs double spreader

Hey,

I'm not an expert, but a double spreader rig is better than a single spreader because:
-For mast of the same height the double spreader rig will be lighter. (Since the mast is supported in two places it can be built thinner and lighter).
-The shrouds tend to be located more inboard. This allows for a tighter sheeting angle and higher pointing.

Barry

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Great, thank you! Do you happen to know about the double spreader advantage? Let me clarify why all these questions came up. I am currently considering buygin a 1985 Canadian Sailcraft 30 (Tony Castro design). Keel stepped, double spreader...AND... a baby stay.

·
Broad Reachin'
2,038 Posts
re: deck-stepped vs. keel-stepped - I think this often comes down to the specific boat you're considering. Each design has tradeoffs, but each can also serve its' intended purpose, particularly for "a weekender sailor who would venture out 5-10 miles off the shore".