SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Solon
22 Posts
Hello Everyone my name is Solon and I'm looking to buy a used sailboat. I only want to buy once so I'm looking at buying a 36' 45'. I wanting to sail around the world, but its only a dream for now. I was in a very bad car wreck 2 years ago and didn't walk for a over year. But I'm all well now and just a small limp in the mornings, but at 46 years old I guess everyone does. From the wreck I was in I have the funds to buy a nice sailboat from the settlement. Im very new to sailing, but I was raise on motorboats and fishing boats so I do know for sure I love boating and love the blue water.
What I'm wanting to know is should I buy a boat that needs some fixing up or should I go for one ready to go. I can spent up $75,000.00 I would like a boat with room to have friends or will hold lots of extra things I will need for long trips. Also can one person sail a boat that size by their self? How much fuel can a 75hp used in a hour?
I would like some Ideas of what all I should look for in a sailboat. And what I will need take extra for a long trip I know I want a Automatic Identification System, water changer, GPS and Autopilot. Also how do you go about planning a 6 months to a year trip? How much money will I need. I was thinking for fuel and food maybe $500 to $1000 a month?? I will be very thankful for any help you may give..Please forgive my typing I'm a hunt a letter then peck a letter typer.....Thanks Solon

·
19,485 Posts
Welcome to the forum..

I'd suggest it's a bit early for some of your questions.. by all means shop for a boat but you're not going to accomplish all this in a very short time.

Browse the forums here - lots to learn here, both about boats, budgets, cruising costs, all of this is covered in existing threads, so there's not really a need to hash it all out again here.