SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to the sailnet forum so open to any advice on my quest. I’m finally ready to buy a sailboat after years of race crewing and bareboat charters. After much on line review, a Tartan 28 appears to fit my needs. Unfortunately, I live in California and all the 28s for sale are on the east coast. I’ve never been on one let alone sailed one. Are there any Tartan 28 owners on the west coast who would be willing to let me look at their boat?

·
Registered
1,346 Posts
Sorry not a Tartan owner . I'm just asking because I don't know , what is the difference between a Catalina 27 and a Tartan 27 ? How will you be using the boat ?
Mark .

·
Registered
83 Posts
Great boat. We are loving ours, but its in Florida, which isn’t helping you. We get lots of compliments and she seems to be a very well respected boat from knowledgeable racers and cruisers alike. Our sailing instructor, our rigger, our sail maker and even some new friends with much larger nice boats tell us what a great choice she is. I trucked mine from Maryland FWIW.

Good luck on your quest.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I’m not that familiar with the Catalina 27 and the Tartan 27. I’m focused on the Tartan 28 because it is supposed be a good performer but still ok for coastal cruising. My wife and I will mainly use it for day sailing and the occasional short cruise.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the testimonial on your a Tartan 28. It reassures me I’m on the right track. I’m willing to move one to California and so may just have to travel to see one.

·
Registered
4,687 Posts
While the Tartan 28 is a great boat, there are lots of other choices in that size range that would fit your needs. Don't restrict yourself so much.

·
Registered
926 Posts
There is what appears to be a pretty nice 1984 Tartan 28 for sale in North Vancouver. Asking price is $17 000 Canadian.