SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi. I am new to sailing and this is my first post on this forum. I have been researching for years and recently bought a DVD, "Basic Sailing Skills," that finally convinced me that I could take the plunge.

Here is my problem. I know nothing about boats, but I am stuck trying to buy one. I could use some advise.

I'm in Binghamton, NY and there aren't any sizeable lakes for about 60 miles (the finger lakes.) There is a small 3-mile lake nearby that I can use to practice, but we plan on spending most of our time on the finger lakes.

I have found a seemingly well kept Catalina 22, and several other pre-1986 Catalinas. There are also a few MacGregor Ventures that I haven't looked at. It's hard to find info on them, but I think that their 24' hull would be pushing the weight limit of my 2005 Chevy Colorado 4x4.

Can anybody offer advice or recommendations?

·
Telstar 28
993 Posts
It would really help if you said which engine you have in your 2005 Colorado, as that affects the towing capacity considerably. It would also help if you said if it was an extended or regular cab version.

A Catalina 22 is a popular starter boat, but I think the Macgregor Venture 24 is a better boat. :) See the PS magazine review of the Catalina 22. The design weight is 2250 lbs., and the trailer is probably another 1000 lbs...so, you're probably looking at about 3500 lbs. with the trailer and gear. I don't know how heavy the V24 is, but as I recall, it is actually lighter than the C22.

Other boats in this size range include the Compacs and Precisions. Hunter also made a few small boats in this range.

·
baDumbumbum
1,142 Posts