SailNet Community banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am 13 years old and I am looking to buy my first sailboat for next summer. I am hoping to get a fast, double handed dinghy (with spinnaker and trapeze) that can be single handed in the future. (I weigh 110lbs now)

I have been sailing for five years, 4 on a sunfish and 1 on a 420. I love the speed of the sunfish and the spinnaker and trapeze of the 420. I believe I am a very good sailor for my age so it can be a fairly challenging boat.

I have been looking at the 29er because it is labeled a "youth" boat but at the same time fast, exciting, and challenging.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

·
Administrator
9,064 Posts
I would suggest that you look around and see what on-design racing classes exist in your area. The most exciting sailing is not always in the fastest boat, but often is in the most competitive class. Different areas of the country and work prefer different one-design classes. Racing in a one design class you will learn more quickly and the boats and gear will show up on the market for less money as people move on to other classes.

If there are no other classes in your area, and if you felt compelled to buy a new boat, then something like the O'Pen Bic Class http://class.openbic.com/ looks like a neat little boat.

Jeff

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I would suggest that you look around and see what on-design racing classes exist in your area. The most exciting sailing is not always in the fastest boat, but often is in the most competitive class. Different areas of the country and work prefer different one-design classes. Racing in a one design class you will learn more quickly and the boats and gear will show up on the market for less money as people move on to other classes.