SailNet Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am interested in doing some offshore racing and would like recommendations for a good boat that I can purchase and outfit for about $100k.

Races would primarily be in the Gulf of Mexico. I would like to race single handed, but perhaps with a small crew. Would be PHRF racing.

I have some racing experience as crew, some singlehanded coastal cruising experience, and 1 rum race singlehanded.

I have thought about a J35 for this. Any thoughts or comments?

Any help is appreciated.

·
Registered
4,647 Posts
First thought, have you also considered an anual budget?
To stay competitive, most skippers are dumping thousands into their boats every season. The initial investment is only part of the equation.

·
19,489 Posts
A J35 is a reasonable pick for this kind of activity, although I wouldn't put it at the top of a list of "easy to singlehand" boats. But sailing such a boat shorthanded will be easier to do on long-legged offshore jaunts than typical "round the cans" races.

As to your budget, a J35 can be purchased with at least some money left over to finance maintenance and campaign costs.

Indeed, to be seriously competitive, as Giu says, of the three, pick two. A limited budget is going to affect your ultimate performance.

However, for many local and more casual race programs, the gains due to the latest sails and a mirror bottom can be nullified with a single horrible tack or a bad tactical decision. So it is possible to bring home some hardware if you sail smart, maximize YOUR boat speed, concentrate on maneouvers and boat handling skills, and avoid mistakes. Even without the latest and greatest equipment you can do quite well, especially if your boat of choice can sail to or beyond its PHRF rating.

Best of Luck!!

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
First thought, have you also considered an anual budget?