SailNet Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
trimming the main on a ben 36.7
on a beat to the windward mark.
i was told by a fellow crew to bring the traveler up to full trim right after the tack. especially after a bad tack.
is this sound advise ?
any comments appreciated.

·
Registered
1,940 Posts
Well, I'm no expert, but if "bad tack" means "turned too far and lost speed", the most important thing should be to build up speed right away. When you're not close-hauled, you want to let the main out a bit for speed, and bring it in as she heads up.

Also, the optimal position of the traveler depends on wind conditions. Close-hauled, you want the boom on the centerline, but in lighter winds, you want raise the boom to twist the sail and give it a fuller shape. Boom tension is the job of the mainsheet, and the traveler is used to pull the boom to the centerline as the sheet is paid out.

What were the conditions and what exactly happened after the boat passed head to wind?

·
19,489 Posts
I'd say if you're down speed coming out of a tack you'd be better off to ease the traveler briefly to "free" the sail a bit to build speed and then come up to close hauled and retrim as you settle into your target speed.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
conditions were 12knt wind and light chop. the tack wasn't the greatest but nothing unusual. was about two minutes off the line with another boat pretty close to starboard.

·
Registered
1,940 Posts
For such conditions I'd probably have the sheet eased a bit and the traveler slightly above dead center... but your best bet is to watch the sail and make your decision based on that. The main trimmer's job is to get the main driving as soon as possible after the tack. If your main has leech telltales, watch them (especially the uppermost one in moderate winds) and keep them streaming aft.

·
Registered
361 Posts