SailNet Community banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
I am an MBA Student at Babson College and I'm currently starting my last class prior to graduation. As part of this class, we are required to conceive of a product or service idea, characterize its market potential, and develop a preliminary business plan around it. Naturally, I chose to explore an idea that centered on sailing. I would be extremely grateful if you would take a moment to take the below survey. It shouldn't take more than 5 minutes. Your help is greatly appreciated!

CrewTender Survey
SurveyMonkey - Survey Preview

Thanks again!
Pat Choe

·
Registered
1,517 Posts
Got errors when taking your survey:

This is not a valid survey link.

Please contact the author of the survey and have them resend you the correct link to this survey.

That being said, there are a few products out there that do some/most of what you're offering.

First, there's the Raymarine's LifeTag MOB base station/bracelet system:
Raymarine Marine Electronics - LifeTag
These run about $800 street price with 4 crew bracelts. They will sound an alert and alarm if a crew member goes more than a certain distance from the base station (assuming a distance overboard). If its on the Raymarine network along with your Raymarine chartplotter, it will also key in your Man Overboard waypoint (MOB). The weakness of this product is that its only an "alert" mechanism. Other than laying a breadcrumb trail back to where a person potentially sounded the MOB alarm (either automatic or triggered), it wont help you FIND the crew that went overboard.