SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year with a real sailboat - a 31' with a Yanmar 3ym20. I live in southeast TN and we get freezing temps but usually only for a few hours at night. By the next day temps are almost always above freezing. We may have a 3 - 4 day period during the winter when temps stay below freezing. It can be 30 one day and 55 the next.

Do I need to winterize my engine/exhaust? I have a composting head and the water tank is empty. I'd like to take the boat out all winter randomly - it's on a lake right now, and the best wind is in the winter here. Summers are usually dead calm.

Thanks

·
Registered
1987 Cape Dory MKII hull #3
581 Posts
with the usual disclaimer, I do not give advice (never) seldom opinions but share experiences.
I live in Morehead City area and have about the same conditions.
Do not drain the water tanks nor the engine cooling water, in fact do not do any special prep, my boat is in the water.
It will take an extraordinary event to freeze the water around the boat, tidal water, have seen some couple of inches superficial layer frozen for a couple of days.
Do keep a room heather inside the boat 24 HS/7 days, but do it because I live 2 blocks from my slip, and check daily, otherwise will not for safety reasons.
I take the engine cover out so there is good warm air circulation.
I make sure my bilge is absolutely dry and have composting head, otherwise will drain the bowl and hoses.
The marina shuts all water hoses.

·
Registered
Contest 36s
7,284 Posts
This is my first year with a real sailboat - a 31' with a Yanmar 3ym20. I live in southeast TN and we get freezing temps but usually only for a few hours at night. By the next day temps are almost always above freezing. We may have a 3 - 4 day period during the winter when temps stay below freezing. It can be 30 one day and 55 the next.