SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am a beginner sailboat owner and have been working on a '74 Laguna Windrose since Feb 2012.. so I am trying to learn to sail while having learned (and still learning) how to build/fabricate & repair the darn thing!

I have replaced the mast bracket along with the cracked damaged fiberglass below it, I did this last year and beefed it up about a half an inch.

I purchased the replacement bracket from Dwyer Mast and although they have VERY LIMITED tech support and a very limited desire to offer advice on the application of their products, they did tell me that the mast is supposed to rest flat on the bracket (I guess it's actually called the "step"?). This makes sense to achieve a solid mast IMO.

With that being said, mine is definitely leaning forward. This happened b/c the surface on the deck is slightly slanted.

My question is this: Should I use a "shim" under the mast (if so what kind?) to level the mast or should I just leave it flat and thereby slanted. Or should I remove the bracket and build up the fiberglass??

Any input greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Shawn T
Wichita KS

Attachments

·
One of None
Hunter 34
8,483 Posts
Shawn, so far as I've seen on a boat had (hunter 23) and other boats I've helped rig up. it's the pivot pin that supports most of the weight of the mast. If you can get the bottom of the mast to sit flat on the step plate in the vertical position it would be good but I don't think would hurt it either way. Later on in your learning curve you'll start to understand how mast top fwd and aft affect handling the boat.

Is your head stay long enough? (the front cable) and that would possible make the back stay too long.

Hope this helps a little :)

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply.