SailNet Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
s/v Tiger Lily
622 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I have my mooring pendant running through my starboard chock with a nice chaffing sleeve ... but when the boat turns sharply the pendant is rubbing the bow (paint) slightly (i.e when the mooring ball is along side the boat on the port side). It's very faint at this point, but I'm sure the effects will increase over time. I have a new coat of dark blue Awlgrip, so the scratches can be seen in the sunlight if you look closely. Is there any way to prevent this?

·
Registered
87 Posts
I'm very new at all this, but why wouldn't you use a bridle? If I understand it correctly, you lead a line from the port side through the mooring pendant and then to the starboard side. That way, the pendant is always off the bow and a sudden movement of the boat would not cause a rub.
What am I missing?

·
Registered
1,725 Posts
Mooring Rash

This can be difficult to prevent, especially if in your mooring area you encounter wind against tide situations. On some boats, it possible to lead the mooring line through an anchor roller.

Even worse are cone moorings with metal fittings on top that can cause scratches. I have a buddy who keeps a small rug with a hole in the top that he drops over these cones when he's moored.

I really like my dark Awlgrip too, but these are the prices we pay:)

·
Registered
86 Posts
In the mooring field where I'm at, lots of people have foam sleeves over the mooring pendants that look sort of like pool noodles.

·
Registered
249 Posts
I'm very new at all this, but why wouldn't you use a bridle? If I understand it correctly, you lead a line from the port side through the mooring pendant and then to the starboard side. That way, the pendant is always off the bow and a sudden movement of the boat would not cause a rub.
What am I missing?