SailNet Community banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
980 Posts
Hello, everyone!

I'm new in general. I have been looking around and found lots saying about stability and speeds but nothing about comparing displacements. So how do the hull designs compare in terms of:
-dead weight to full load weight with same total loading capacity and same power or engine.

If you can link to some papers, that would be great also.
Sorry, if this has been asked before.

·
Registered
980 Posts
I see but isn't structural mass still a good measure?

I saw multihulls are said to capsize forward, as I understand it this is because of the sail and mast. This is rather a mechanical problem and design of a specific ship. For example if the mast is much taller than ship length than it will capsize in the direction of the wind. A solution would be making the ship longer or maybe devide the center hull into forward and aft hulls (diamond).

I wonder are there actually any ships in diamond configuration?

·
Registered
980 Posts
Well, I read that post, but my question was for a general understanding of the matter.

Yes, a heavier boat is often more stable...but if the weight is added in the wrong place, then it can make the boat far less stable.
I understand but it's always difficult to do it right in practice.
Finding the center of gravity of your boat... Can I assume it's usually designed to be where the mast is or somewhere along it?

As for a multihull with four hulls in a diamond configuration... doesn't make much sense at all. First, the load carrying capacity would be much lower
Well, if the hulls are used as feet for deck structures like the SWATH....
So they all could be of the same design, and with the big deck structure it's easier to have them rigidly fixed. Virtually a big ship on four feets. I guess it would be very big for better deck to hull structure ratios, and many tension structures.

It is pretty easy to badly engineer a multihull... look at the "Tin Can" trimaran.