SailNet Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am going to buy my fist boat, hope to have the money by spring. I have limited sailing experience, but i was pretty good back in the day. I'm a 20 ish law student with little money and less time. How much shoud i spend (the price of the boat and trailer) and how much will it cost (the real costs, fixing stuff, paying off property owners when i rip up their grass trying to launch)?

·
Detachable member
377 Posts
it really depends on what you can afford. as far as how much it will cost, that depends on what you buy and what kind of shape it is in. if you can be more specific on what you are looking for/thinking of buying, you will get better answers to your questions.:puke

·
Mud Hen #69, Mad Hatter
415 Posts
New? Used? Do you intend on spending overnights or multi-day cruises? Just daysailing? Alone? One or two crew along? How big is your tow vehicle? Do you want power to get out of a marina (some don't let you sail in or out), river mouth or channel?

Need some general help - otherwise you can get a trailerable sailboat for $600 to $120,000 or thereabouts that is between 11 and 28 feet long.

·
Wandering Aimlessly
22,037 Posts
As above, you need to define what you expect to do with the boat, before any input can be helpful. With your location, easy travel distance limits you pretty much to how large you can go. Something on the order of a Flying Scot or other popular small boat that can be used in racing, would seem to be a good idea for your area.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)