SailNet Community banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
5,894 Posts
Reaction score
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ran across an old tube of drawings marked "historic 1" in my archives. It contained some drawings I did between the age of 16 and 20. It was a very weird feeling to look at the old drawings and wonder who that kid was and what exactly did he think he was doing.

So, mainly for pure self indulgence and entertainment, I did my latest blog entry with a variety of these very old drawings.

I hope you will check hem out,. I think you will chuckle. But give me a break, I was a kid.

· Registered
5,894 Posts
Reaction score
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Westsail:
These boats were drawn years before the world ever heard the name Westsail.

But I was a keen student of Bill Atkin's work from an early age. I collected the MOTOR BOATING AND SAILING IDEAL SERIES books.

· Registered
5,894 Posts
Reaction score
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Thanks guys. I like your responses.

$35....$350.... to a 17 year old it was the same. I couldn't afford it. I had to gas up my 1955 Oldsmobile.

Yes my keels have improved.

You are all very welcome at my shack. Just give me a heads up. My wife is used to it.
" Who exactly is this guy?"
"Well, I'm not sure. I met him on the internet."
So far the results have been very positive.

· Registered
5,894 Posts
Reaction score
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Paikea:
If you are talking about a "normal", ballasted 30' keel boat with reasonably healthy design characteristics it would take a real pro to "capsize " it in anything short of a full gale with breaking seas and too much sail up.