SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I work as a dockmaster and was recently left a Mylar Head Sail (Atleast thats what i think it is) From someone that was racing Transpac (LB-HI) due to excess wait..

Long Story Short Its been sitting in the bag, rolled up properly from the past 6 months and i need it gone.

It Looks to be in great condition with no delimitation.

I dont not have much knowledge and would like to sell the sail. Can you please help me.

Here is what i got off the sail patch

Measurer - 217
10/04/09

LP-11.26
LU-23.26
LE-24.96
M A-2.87
KGM-5.64
MGL-8.40

·
Registered
3,264 Posts
Sail,

I would call a local loft and ask of they do consignment for sails. Mylar sails can't be recut, so finding a boat that wants it could be tricky.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Sell it to Minney's Yacht Sales. That is probably the easiest option and they aren't too far away.
Whats a Sail like that worth.... roughly. I know its hard to tell not looking at it but give me Highest and Lowest. I dont want to go there and have them offer me $80 bucks when i really could get $500.

·
Freedom isn't free
2,990 Posts
Mylar laminate (loadpath) might be worth something for the particular boat it was designed for... or even radial... straight mylar/nylon probably not worth much. But in good shape, for the right boat, as long as there are no signs of decay... could be worth a lot more than $80.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I took it to Minnys, some younger kid was the one looking at it. Didnt ask to take it out of bag because he said "It looks like a professional roll or fold and didnt want to deal with it. He first offered $50, so my girlfriend said no. (she was dealing with him, i was at work. She has some knowledge about sails) than he came back with an $80 offer....