SailNet Community banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,942 Posts
i have a humming bird, i dont remember which model. i got it from bass pro, its color. i got it on sale and the demo model, wound up paying around 400.

check sailnet because mine only came with the cheap internal map, to upgrade the maps will be another 150, i think sailnets come with better maps, or at least ones i have seen linked here

·
Arf!
609 Posts
Would like to keep it under $300. This is for my Cal 22 So the ability to run on batteries and then a plug when necessary would be great.

Oh and a color screen would be nice too:cool:
You don't want much, do you?

I have been using a Garmin GPSMap 76 for several years. It has a B/W display, but it has been a faithful tool. I take it on all my charters as backup. There is no information on depths in the charts supplied. You can buy this unit for less than $200.

Garmin also has an Oregon 400 model with built-in coastal charts in color, that you may want to check out [no familiarity with this unit] -- $448, sailnet store.

But you may want to spend a few more $$ and get either a Garmin GPSmap 440 ($379 at Jamestown Distributors) or a Standard Horizon CP180i ($379: thegpsstore.com) + a card with charts for the entire US east coast for $190). Both have larger (color) displays than the handhelds mentioned above.

·
Registered
2,593 Posts
Not Possible

Hello,

I can't think of ANY charplotter / sounder units that cost under $300 and run on batteries. You can get a chartplotter, OR a sounder for that price, but not both. About the closest I can think of would be something like this:

Lowrance M68C S/Map Single Frequency Sonar and GPS System

The price should be around $400. There is a version that runs off batteries, but it's more expensive and requires an external battery pack.

I had that unit on my Newport and I liked it a lot. The only reason I didn't keep it was because I wanted a bigger screen and NMEA in / out capability.