SailNet Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all, I'm completely new to the sailing world as i recently got a Pearson 26 and decided to fix it up with a little work. I have a choice between an OB 9.8 hp or a 18 hp for around the same price.I am not sure which to buy. Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

·
Registered
967 Posts
I wouldn't go below 9 HP

If you plan on using the boat anywhere where there is current or waves, you'll need the 9 or 10 horsey motor. If you sail in a lake that doesn't have current or tides or big waves, then a smaller motor may be fine. Even then, I wouldn't go below 6 HP.

If it were me, I'd go the 9 -10 HP. 18 HP is WAY overkill.

DrB

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
thanks for the reply's.BTW I will definitely go with the 9 hp.
But Just out of curiosity though, if 9.8 hp gives you 6 knots will using 18 give you a much greater increase in speed, or you are limited to the Maximum hull speed of around 8 knots

·
Registered
967 Posts
Sure it can be done.....

Sure you can sail a boat without a motor, but if you're going to have one, why "underpower" it. Sailing through Hells Gate with boat that displaces around 11000 lb with a 10 hp can be done, but what if the winds are in the wrong direction, you're pressed for time, trying to beat a storm, you mistime the tide/current, etc. and need to get in quick? A 25 Ft Catalina 5 HP motor is much better than a P26 with 5 HP motor as the Pearson displaces almost 20% more water weight. (4500 versus 5400 lbs).