SailNet Community banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
994 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a pretty novice sailor. I am recently relocated to Tampa and now am able to devote more time to sailing, which I really enjoy. I need guidance on the right boat. I expect to primarily use the boat for day-sailing, perhaps try racing in the weekly regattas at Davis Island. Blue water sailing in Gulf sounds nice, but don't know that I will really get around to it.

Primary considerations:

1) Day-sailer -- I must be able to single hand, since I won't necessarily have a crew.

2) Price -- $6K or under (I don't want to sink big bucks into a first boat)

3) Forgiving -- as a novice, I'd trade performance for ease of sailing

Secondary considerations:

4) Draft ?? -- I've been looking at boats that have shallow draft to be able to sail in the bay. Is this important?

5) Performance in Light wind?? -- although I may only remain in Tampa for a year or so, is it important I the boat perform well in light wind. I've sailed in San Diego, Newport, Cape Cod and North Carolina -- and SD & New England were dramatically different from NC. I imagine Tampa is more akin to NC.

Ericson 23 vs. Pearson Ensign 22.5:

Which boat is better for what I am looking for? I've been looking at both and have some in mind. I sailed an Ensign in Newport in the past and loved it. But am not sure it is good in light wind. On the other hand, the Ericson supposedly is ok in light wind and at least affords some additional cabin space and comfort should I decide to use it for cruising. Is there another boat you would recommend.

Thanks.

·
Registered
150 Posts
I don't know much about either boat, but can offer some info on the sailing Tampa Bay. Shallow draft is definitely a plus, and you want a boat that performs well in light air. I find many more days with wind around 5 knots than 15 knots.