SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I recently received of 13foot wooden boat from a family friend and to make it work I will need a bunch of help to make it operation able as it is my first time repairing a wooden craft. The boat was in poor condition due to rot In some areas(mostly the skeleton of the craft and the top covering), we have mostly cleared up the rot in the skeleton and are replacing the top. The bottom was replaced recently so that's not a issue, The boat needs to be refibberglassed so I need help with how do it and with what brand/type. Also I need to know whether or not to waterproof the inside or not and how to do so.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Tommays I have looked around the hull and there are clear signs of fiber glass or someother kind of covering around the wood also I was told it was previously fiberglassed so was it just Improperly constructed?

·
Registered
Corsair 24
4,594 Posts
what wood is it? some are built with a light layer of glass to protect against the elements

you could do just that, sand away all old glass get fresh wood exposed and seal withthicked epoxy or go ahead and glass with 2 layers or so

its not that its such a bad method its more that once water eneters its only a matter of time before delamination, core issues and water rot occurs like you already know.

if the wood is in bad condition then your options start to decrease and costs increase in order to fix.

sealing the inside(this could be epoxy and paint cheaply) is just as important as sealing the outside...

·
Registered
Corsair 24
4,594 Posts
thought so...thats probably how it was built...

Id seal up the insides, reinforce daggerboard trunk and certain areas...then lightly glass the outer hull...

thats about all you can do...

·
Registered
3,184 Posts