SailNet Community banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all, hopefully I'm posting in the correct place. (mods please relocate if I'm mistaken)

I’m looking for some suggestions for a boat that I can keep down at my local lake and take out on weekends with the wife or with friends, but that will also be competitive. I’ve been sailing on and off since I was a young child, so I’m not a novice sailor. What I’m looking for is:
- length 18-20’
- monohull with small cuddy (added)
- total trailered weight preferably under 2,000 lbs
- handles well in 5-15 knot winds (the ability to plane in heavier wind would be a huge plus)
- PHRF rating as low as possible (under 190 would be optimal)
- a stabler boat would be better, as I’ll frequently have inexperienced crew
- cost preferably under 10k

Ultimately a U20 would be perfect (pun intended), but spending 20k+ on a boat would be frowned upon by the wife. About 6 months ago I let a cherry Holder 20 slip through my fingers because I had done very little research at the time, but from what I’ve read that boat may not be stable enough for my needs. Does anyone have thoughts on the Holder 20 or other similar boats that I should be considering? Thanks!

·
Registered
5,071 Posts
I'd recommend to seek a used but 'decent' U-20 as they do meet all your qualifications.
Another suggestion would be a decent used Holder-20, a fairly simplified planing hull boat.