SailNet Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for some feedback on what I consider to be - my first open water solo trip.

The route is Gothenburg to Skagen (Denmark) Not much to more seasoned sailors I know, but every man has his mountain.

I've been sailing for 5 years in and around West Sweden on day trips with family or myself.
The first few weeks after buying my boat, a MAXi 84, I solo sailed from Malmö to Varberg and on to Gothenburg (130 Nm). I have my RYA on shore skipper cert and I have solo sailed several days longer than the intended trip to Skagen but all along the shore and easily within sight of land, though if you look at the West Sweden shoreline it's not without its own stresses.

My intended departure is in 2 days, Aug 28th and return on the 30th. It's predicted to be 12 - 17 kts wind close-hauled both directions as it changes direction on the 29th.

It's been a goal of mine in my developing sailing career but for some reason I am experiencing nervous anticipation.

I'm interested to read any thoughts or advice on overcoming my healthy nervousness.

·
Registered
6,307 Posts
Being a bit nervous is normal... there are possibilities of "new" ... so be prepared... and you'll be fine. Be conservative and PAY ATTENTION. Reef early...

·
Registered
Mirage 33
703 Posts
Have a plan and then a backup plan, and then a failsafe\worst case plan and I'm sure you'll do just fine. It sounds like you've prepped already, and you have miles under your keel for a trip like this. Whether on my boat, or at my work as an emergency responder, I've always thought that if I wasn't nervous anymore then it would be time to stop because clearly I was missing something or didn't care to consider all the hazards.

·
Super Moderator
4,789 Posts
I would do as much prep before hand to lighten your workload while on the water.