SailNet Community banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Dirt Free
2,654 Posts
Greetings ladies and gentalmen. my name is ashton. im new to owning my own sailboat. so i bought this boat off a guy and he died before i could obtain the info needed to identify a make or model. im stuggling. please help!!!
No deed, title, state registration, documentation, bill of sale ?
How on earth will you prove you own this boat ?

Impossible to tell from this photo but something says to me that it kinda looks like it might be aluminum

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
ive been doing payments to the guy who passed on. usually only receiving a receipt. So now ill be continuing payments to his son. Who's a good friend of mine. Im sure he'll have it figured out once the final payment is complete. And its fiberglass btw. I just want to know for my own sake.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I dont have much but maybe this could help.

Attachments

·
Registered
620 Posts
Am I the only one? says "attached thumbnails" but nothing else there.
Oh well, I am horrible at ID ing boats anyway.
Much luck to you Ashton, sure the crew will ID, and welcome aboard Sailnet.

·
Registered
620 Posts
Now I can see pics, but still horrible at ID ing boats.
Any letters/numbers imprinted in the gelcoat of the transom?

Could this be a one off build/ home finish?
interior wood working/cabinets...
rudder...
cabin top lines...

·
Registered
136 Posts
The lack of a state registration number on the bow would seem to indicate that this is a documented vessel. If so there should be a USCG documentation plaque with the documentation number somewhere in the boat. You can use it to get an abstract of title for the boat. As noted above, it is also common for the HIN to be impressed into the fiberglass of the boat's transom. As with the VIN for a car, you can determine the manufacturer from the HIN.

·
Freedom isn't free
2,949 Posts