SailNet Community banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, Names Jon Wright. I just pulled home a 71 Flying Junior. They guy said it "had everything" i am quickly realizing that is not the case. I am missing a boom vang and something to attach the forestay to the bow. I am trying to figure out how to get this thing rigged correctly so i can get out and sail it when the weather gets nicer. I am very new to sailing still and have a lot to learn. But I am looking forward to taking the wife and kid out. Anyway, i am a lot more used to old cars and motorcycles. I have a cool old 74 MGB GT and a 72 CB350 honda motorcycle. Anyway, i am sure i will be buggin you guys with questions here soon.
Thanks

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
THanks for the video, i have seen that a number of times. it is helpful for a lot of stuff but my biggest concern was getting the mast up and attaching the shrouds. The side stays have the little pins and attach quite easily. i was concerned at first about the mast as there is no hardware of any kind to attach it, it just sits in the little channel and can slide forward and aft but i saw once i put some tension on the forestay it seemed to hold pretty steady. somebody said that where you position the mast depends on wind conditions. anybody want to elaborate on that for me? there is a carabiner on the bow that looks like the guy might have been using that to attach the forestay, but that does not seem like the best thing to use, i am not sure what kind of shackle i would need but i will keep looking around. pictures will follow soon. to show you all what i am talking about.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·