SailNet Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings from Finland,

I would like your comments and feedback on a project I have been working on. I have been building a motorised mechanism for lowering a Sideshift stern thruster into the water, from under the swimming platform on my Malö 43 sailing boat. Please see the below youtube video of how the mechanism works.

I posted a short youtube video here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RpIoVC_h7WU

Any thoughts and comments are most welcome!

Kind regards
Jarmo M.
Finland

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This is a mk 2 version of the lowering mechanism, which is yet to be tested. However the stern thruster itself I have been using for 5 years now, with great success. The thruster is a Side Shift 12V, it's a bit underpowered for this size boat (43'), but other than that it works perfectly :)

·
Master Mariner
8,675 Posts
The only reason one would need a stern thruster on a small craft is if there was no water from the prop passing over the rudder.
Turn the helm hard over and give the engine a good, quick burst of power, and voila, the stern goes sideways.

Reactions: deniseO30

·
Catalina 400 MKII
818 Posts
Putting aside the opinions of what size boat to use it on, the basic idea looks great. Very innovative! Takes care of many issues surrounding having a thruster that "lives" in the water.

·
Closet Powerboater
3,925 Posts
Need is relative for thrusters, but if they were free, really.... who wouldn't want one?

Some thoughts I have:

1# looks nice.
2# Make sure it is robust enough that if (read: when) the owner leaves it down it won't break after sailing with it down at hull speed all day.
3# How do you think the prop wash will affect its thrusting ability?
4# Swim steps are becoming less common in favor of sugar scoops and open transoms. You may need several mounting options if you want a broader market.
5# Send me one to test! I love thrusters! :D

MedSailor