SailNet Community banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The Simrad IS15 multi instrument has become intermittent. I guess I need to replace
it (unless some has repair suggestions).

Everything is 0183, but my new chartpotter (Garmin 740) can do nema 2k so I will
be moving in that direction over time.

I'm tempted by a new Garmin GMI10 or GMI20 but they sure are pricey. Any other
suggestions?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,184 Posts
Personally, I'd go with Simrad again. I have the IS20 wind instrument, and the NMEA 2000 airmar speed/depth transducer, networked to the plotter and a Garmin GMI 10.

I bought this sail pack a year ago :

SIMRAD IS20 Sail Pack at West Marine

It's quite a bargain. You get the two displays, masthead sensor, and the speed/depth/temp transducer. I actually sold the MFD as I already had the Garmin GMI 10, but that will soon be replaced by Simrad IS40 MFD.

NB the IS20 is Simnet, which is NMEA 2000 but with proprietary cables. I rather like the cabling system, and it connects seamlessly to NMEA 2000 anyway.
 

·
no longer reading SailNet
Joined
·
2,309 Posts
I use the Raymarine ST70 as my general purpose display. I bought it at a used marine parts store for about $200, for that price it is a bargain.

Raymarine's general purpose one today is called the i70. It is expensive enough when new (over $500) that I'd just buy an A65 instead. That is their smallest MFD and not much larger or more expensive than the i70 while providing much more functionality.

I prefer Raymarine's SeatalkNG cables over the generic NMEA2000. As with Simrad it is trivial and inexpensive to plug in devices using standard NMEA2000 wiring.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the input.

While I am happy with the long life I got out of my old 0183 Simrad equipment, I'm very reluctant to go with any supplier that uses non-standard NEMA2000 cables. I find it very annoying that Simrad and Raymarine are NEMA 2k, but use other names for it. I want a supplier that makes things clear and open - not confusing and proprietary.

Maybe that means I have to go with a Garmin GMI 10 or 20.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,184 Posts
The Simnet cabling addresses some issues with NMEA2000. It allows daisy chaining, they make some really handy multi-way adapters, and the plugs on the cable are much thinner making for easier routing.

You can always wire all the Simnet devices with Simnet to NMEA 2000 adapter cables to an NMEA 2000 backbone - if you are a masochist.
 

·
no longer reading SailNet
Joined
·
2,309 Posts
Likewise the Raymarine cables are designed to solve some fundemental issues with standard NMEA2000 cables. The biggest one is that the connectors are much smaller and fit more easily through holes and conduit. This has been massive for me when upgrading an old boat, I'd much rather keep my wires intact then cut and splice them as was often done for NMEA 0183.

Since adapters are cheaply and easily available between SeatalkNG and NMEA2000 cable standards I don't have any concerns about this. The data on the wire is identical in both cases. I have a Simrad NMEA 2000 radio and it plugged right into the network (and talks fine with the Raymarine stuff now that Simrad fixed the major RS35/Link8 bugs).
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top