SailNet Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks.

Just came here and signed up because it claims this is the largest forum for sailing. I have took a serious interest in learning to sail a boat. I've never stepped foot on one, nevermind sailing one. I have been looking into taking lessons on how to get the task done. But, my main curiosity is the cost of a decent sized boat. On craigslist here in Daytona, I find a lot within my price range of $4-8k. I'd rather buy in cash than finance. Am I in my right mind to accept the fact that such a large boat (20 something feet long) can be a good buy? Or should I assume there is something wrong with the boat? Again, I am completely new to this whole gig. The other thing is, I am wondering the size of boat I should consider? What I would like to have, and be able to do is:

Spend a week or two in the boat
Sail larger rivers and along the coast (close to shore)
Sail large lakes
Sail comfortably, I dont care about speed so much
Something good for fishing
Can house 3 to 7 people (mostly 3 sleeping within)
And decent quality

I have no idea if I posted in the right area. I just saw "Introduce Yourself", and thought I would start here.

My overall reason for selecting sail over motor boat is due to the savings on gas and pollution, and it being safer for the folks below the water swimming around.

thanks for any answers provided, in advance!

·
Administrator
5,921 Posts
Brett,

Welcome to SailNet.

Based on some of your assumptions about sailing, I would suggest that you first take a sailing course. An on water course will help you to determine if you even like to sail. Once you do that, you should revisit your list and see if it changes. I would also suggest Googgling for a local sail club to join. They are inexpensive and often will give you the opportunity to sail on other people's boats so that you can see just how varied the choices are.