SailNet Community banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, New to the forum and new to sailing and looking for some input. To give a bit of background, I'm not new to boating, I've been a commercial fisherman for thirty five years. I hold a 1600 ton ocean masters license and have fished offshore on everything from Maine lobster boats to factory trawlers in the Bering sea, Russia and the North Atlantic. I've owned a number of boats, the largest being 90'. In all this time I've been on sailing vessels twice for day sails. Now I'm retiring after open heart surgery and am looking for a sailboat. I live in Maine and would like to be able to go offshore for a few days at a time and maybe some time go down to the Caribbean for the winter. I've been looking at sailboats for quite awhile and have a few vague opinions. Financially I have limited funds (due to medical expenses) and don't mind a boat that needs some work. I like more traditional looking boats and am presently interested in a Tartan 27 but the suggestions of more experienced sailors is more than welcome. This forum has been a wonderful source of information and I look forward to participating.

·
Bring On The Wind
281 Posts
Welcome to sailnet and good luck with your quest. There are a lot of great people on here to answer questions and provide advice. In regard to the Tartan 27 there is a member named Caleb that has one that I am sure will be weighing in at some time.

·
Asleep at the wheel
3,016 Posts
Welcome! It will be interesting to see your posts. You bring a really interesting (sorry to use the same word twice, but it's the best one in this case) perspective. The Tartans have a great reputation. Will it be just you aboard or do you have a significant other? Have you been aboard the 27's?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·