SailNet Community banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All

I'm new to sailing and this forum. Looking at purchasing a sail boat to learn on. I have a good amount of experience on the water but non with sailboats. I've always wanted to learn how to sail. I been casually reading up on sailing and checking craigslist for boats. I think I might have found one.

1971 O'DAY 17' SAILBOAT DAYSAILER (it won't let me post the link to the Columbus, OH craigslist)

Not sure if this is a good boat for beginners or not. Anyways any advice would be appreciated. I looking at just sailing on some of the small lakes around Ohio, nothing major or too exciting...yet

·
Bring On The Wind
281 Posts

·
Windseeker
177 Posts
warning, you might end up sleepless planning docking procedures, thinking about provisions, trying to improve your tacks, your gybes. you will likely start talking about lines, wind shifts and sail trim to people with glazed over eyes. your hands will callous and your skin darken. when people talk to you about life shore you may go sailing in your mind, only to realize they just asked you something. you will possibly start watching at tree branches waving, flags flying and smoke drifting across in a manner that is bordering on the obsessive. it is likely you will look at metal products bought in home depot and think "this is inferior metal".

on the other hand....

that boat looks like a good start to me and possibly an end, if you feel you need the outboard have a hard look at it replacements don't seem to be cheap though with a boat that size a smaller electric troller might work for you just fine(tm). Nice to see an active class: DaySailer.org - Day Sailer Association that means you'll have people to question about issues and look for to get information on how to get the most out of the boat.

·
Registered
571 Posts
YES! You won't find a better beginner boat than the Daysailer, although there are many that are just as good.