SailNet Community banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello SailNet Community,

I am a recent college graduate who is employed and living on the Florida west coast. I have been chipping away at the dream to live and cruise on a small sailboat for many years. I have sailed on boats ranging from 12' - 45' and bought sailed and sold a Columbia 7.6 with a couple of friends. I have looked at a dozen or so boats ranging in quality, seaworthiness, and livability over the past couple of years. Presently I am looking at a Compac 27/2. I hear they are built of an above average quality, commonly referred to as a poor mans Island Packet. I have read they are built to be used as solid coastal cruisers with nightly anchorages. They accommodate their skipper and crew well with good livability and also turn heads when entering harborage. Used ones from the late 80's and early 90's range in price from 15k - 25k and I hear that they have a good resell value when people 'move up' with their boats plans. What is not to love about these boats for a green cruiser? What are some notorious problems with Compacs? Any previous owners out there with some advice they can spare to a young man with an old soul?

Thanks

·
Registered
1981 Endeavour 32
1,072 Posts
Hey Nomad, and welcome to Sailnet. I don't have much personal knowledge of the Compacs, but they do have a reputation for being well built and holding their value. As with any boat that's more than 20 years old or so, much of the "quality" of the boat is going to be determined by how well the previous Owner maintained her.

27 feet is about perfect for a starter boat, in my opinion. That's big enough to be comfortable on but not so big to get you in over your head with maintenance costs.

There is a pretty good Compac owner's forum.....in case you haven't already found it here's a link:

Com-Pac Yacht Owners Association - Index

Good luck with your search.....let us know how it goes!