SailNet Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,961 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still pretty new to keel boat sailing. This weekend was my ninth trip, and only my second as skipper. We chartered a Beneteau 393 for a trip through the Apostle Islands of Lake Superior.

Here's a picture of our knotmeter on our first morning:

We stayed at that speed long enough for me to get my camera and get a couple shots of the screen :) The GPS said our max speed was 8.7 knots, but it averages over a longer period of time. Either way, we were well above our hull speed of 7.9 knots.

Since I'm pretty new I wasn't trying to sail fast, I was just trying to keep it flat and in control. I had the sails on the supposed third reef (they were both furling, so I was going by marks on the sails) and I had them pretty flat with a bit of twist to spill some air off the top.

I planned our course so we could do the whole run on two broad reaches with a (chicken) jibe in between.

The forecast called for 15-25 knot winds with gusts in the upper 30s. Our masthead anemometer read pretty consistently in the upper 20s.

It was a great ride! The boat balanced well and tracked straight, and the helm felt good; it was hard to believe we were going that fast!

Later during the trip the weather calmed down and the sun even came out for a bit. We all had a great time.

·
Registered
2,961 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Sounds like an awesome trip. I adore Lake Superior. Hopefully will start spending summers there soon!
What, not the winters? :)

Oh man, now you got me wondering why I just left Lake Superior. Congrats on the great sailing day.
Thanks, it was great. I bet you won't miss Superior so much once you get to places where you can sail more than five months a year, and where you can swim in the water without needing a defibrillator afterward!

Why go fast, when you can go slow