SailNet Community banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,036 Posts
Hi everyone,

In the past couple of days I have been trying to install a simple NMEA 2K network consisting of a Garmin GMI 10 MFD, an Airmar 800DST Triducer, a Garmin GWS 10 Wind sensor and a Garmin GPS 19X HVS (NMEA0183 version). So far I have only dealt with the triducer, gps and the display, since weather has not allowed to install the wind sensor.

I have followed the installation instructions to a tee, but I have run into two problems that have me at my wits' end. The cabling is correct to my knowledge and a diagram of the installation is available in the location below but I cannot add the image to the post due to low post count.

h t t p://i.imgur.com/1Djt3On.png

Here are the problems:

1. No GPS data at all!! I have moved the antenna to a clear view of the sky but not even satellite view comes up on GMI10.
2. On a dry fit, all triducer data showed up correctly, but after installation of the triducer in the thru-hull and running the cable through the bilge, speed & temperature shows up from the triducer but depth shows up some times and sometimes it doesn't!!! Funny thing is that when depth showed up at some point it was only when the GPS19X was disconnected from GMI10, which does not make any sense, since they are not on the same data bus! (the gps is directly connected to GMI as a NMEA0183 device.

I tried different connections of the drop cables (power drop cable in the middle, left or right) to the backbone which consists only of 3 T-connectors, 3 drop cables, terminating resistors and no backbone cable.

The two things I haven't tried so far is to ground the power cable (the bare wire it contains was not shown to be needed to connect to the ship's ground in the instructions so I left it unconnected) and to use the limiting resistor for 1Hz operation of the GPS (instead of 10Hz, which I was under the impression that GMI10 supports)

If someone can help me sort out this mess, I would be grateful, since I spent an entire weekend passing cables through very tight spots only to have only half of the functionality...

Thank you in advance
Looking at your diagram you are feeding the GMI10 with power two ways.
-Via the N2K drop cable
-Via the NMEA 0183 harness

Don't think this i correct..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,036 Posts
I don't see why that would cause problems - it is fine to feed NMEA 2000 with power in more than one location (as long as the polarity is the same!) to overcome voltage drops in long cable runs.
This is not what Garmin say
From http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/GMI_10_INST_EN.pdf Page 3
NOTICE
If you have an existing NMEA 2000 network on your boat, it should alreay be connected to power. Do not connect the included NMEA 2000 power cable to an existing NMEA 2000 network, because only one power source should be connected to a NMEA 2000 network.
If you need to insert power into the N2K network at different segments the segments need to be insulated (not necessary on an average boat).

More on Garmin Networking and power supply here
http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/NMEA_2000_Network_Fundamentals_EN.pdf page 5

The GMI 10 manual is not clear on connecting the GMI 10 to NMEA 0183 and NMEA 2000 at the same time...

More one NMEA 2000 networking here http://www.maretron.com/products/pdf/Network Installation Guide.pdf
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,036 Posts
Oh I see, I think it's to do with noise loops.
Probably :)

Well some of the MFDs make a big thing of the NMEA 0183/2000 repeater function, so there must be a way to do it right (meaning they take 0183 data in, and output it in 2000 form)
Lots of MFD's can translate between NMEA 0183/2000, my Furuno NN3D MFD does that.
But Garmin say that the GMI 10 can't do this (Translate)-

You also can get NMEA 2000 Gateway's like this - have one connected to my autopilot and N2K network.
 
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top