SailNet Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy, I am new to Sailnet but need some advice. We have a O'Day 25 and when it rains or we wash the deck water trickles down the interior wall of the hull in a few places. What is the best way to repair this?

·
Registered
28 Posts
Howdy, I am new to Sailnet but need some advice. We have a O'Day 25 and when it rains or we wash the deck water trickles down the interior wall of the hull in a few places. What is the best way to repair this?
You've got to give us more information than just that.

·
Learning the HARD way...
7,193 Posts
Find the leaks and fix them... Or hire someone to find the leaks and fix them. Or get a new boat.

If you want more specifics, give us more information about you AND your boat AND the leaks.

·
dadio917
326 Posts
you're got to find the leaks and re-bed whatever it is. Have someone trickle water on suspect points, like bolts, and watch underneath. Probably not that hard to find. If bolts, just pull and re-bed with a sealant like 3m 4200.

We used to have an O-day 25. was a good boat for us.

·
Freedom isn't free
2,949 Posts
Rebed with butyl tape, easier and rarely leaks again.

Unless we are talking about around hatches and stuff, its likely winches, cleats, spinlocks or fairleads/turning blocks where it leaks, so they'd need rebedded. Chainplates also common source or leaks.

·
Registered
1,612 Posts
I had an Oday 23 for almost twenty years; I could never get all of the leaks to stop. Because of the way the boats were built with the liners, it's very difficult to access a lot of the deck hardware to rebed. Some places I found that slowed (but never stopped) the leaks on my boat:

the mast plate on the deck: this is impossible to rebed without taking out the compression post in the cabin, as the post covers one of the four bolts that attach the plate. I did my best by backing out the bolts I could access and doing what I could there.