SailNet Community banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have looked in the archives but have found no information that specifically addresses my issue. If I missed it somewhere, I'm sorry for posting again.

I am new to boating and I am trying to do my homework before making a purchase. I live in Colorado and plan to buy 38 - 42 sailboat ($200k budget) to be kept in the Galveston, TX area. In an effort to understand insurance rates and coverage I have contacted several insurance companies. One flat out refused to quote insurance on a boat kept out of state. Another insisted that I contact an agent in Coloardo for the quote. This seemed odd to me as agents in Colorado really know nothing about 40 foot boats or the Galveston area. Only one (well known) company has actually provided a quote the covers named storms and does not care about the multi-state issue - but their rates seem a bit high. I have also been told that their rates are well above average.

Has anyone solved this multi-state issue? What companies will issue policies for an owner in one state and a boat in another. What rates are common/reasonable based on boat value? What else do I need to know about insurance on the Gulf?
Thanks,
Dave...

·
Telstar 28
1,000 Posts
Give Christine Hartge, at Hartge Insurance, in Annapolis a call. She deals with boats in a lot of areas of the country. :) The main problem with keeping a boat in an area like Galveston, is the HURRICANE problem. :)

·
AEOLUS II
2,938 Posts
I am new to boating and I am trying to do my homework before making a purchase. I live in Colorado and plan to buy 38 - 42 sailboat ($200k budget) to be kept in the Galveston, TX area. In an effort to understand insurance rates and coverage I have contacted several insurance companies. One flat out refused to quote insurance on a boat kept out of state.
Think about it...

1. A new boat owner buys a 40ft sailboat.

2. Keeps it more than a six hour car ride from his home.