SailNet Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
old guy
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Sailnet and am researching getting a 30+/- foot cruising vessel to see some of Alaska that few people see. I am retiring June 2015 and will have access to an annuity of $25,000+/- to spend a sailboat for my wife and I. I have never sailed although the company I worked for once chartered a 36Ft sloop on lake Michigan for me for 3 days. Also I grew up on Lake Erie and spent 8 Years in the US Navy. We plan 3-4 four to six week trips a year all in Alaska Waters. I have been looking on line at boats for over a year and plan to take a 0-bareboats Sailing class in Seward Ak next June. Right now I am looking at a 29Ft Cascade and a 30Ft Catalina both for sale in SE Ak. I would appreciate any advice from this community!! Oh I am also not very computer literate! Well there is a start!!

·
19,488 Posts
The Catalina 30 will have a lot more space/volume than the Cascade.. but the Cascades have done some serious voyaging and though a tad uninspired design wise they have a fairly good rep. Many were owner-finished, though, so you'll need to be careful about that.

If you envision mostly inside passages and picking weather windows then the C30 would probably do the job for you quite well.. she's a stiff, stable boat with good volume, reasonable speed and excellent builder/owner support still today. For spending 6-8 weeks aboard per year I think it's far more liveable, esp if a couple or more.