SailNet Community banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 25 Irwin that I am planning to repaint the full topside.

How much should I plan to spend, and what are the proper steps? I am a professional painter and plan to paint using a HVLP inside a ventilated spray booth. If there is a better way I am all ears.

·
Registered
652 Posts
OH, the topside. glad I caught that before I posted my first response. My new to me boat is painted. I cant help personally although I have seen lots of tutorials that look pretty straigh forward. I will have to follow for any pointers as I will be doing this again oneday. If you search here or even yahoo it you will find a bunch of good advice and vids, etc...

·
Registered
469 Posts
I've never sprayed one, but have done a number by roll and tip. If your experience is doing cars, there won't be much difference. If your used to doing houses, you'll have to pay a lot more attention to surface prep. The surface must be absolutely perfect or the high gloss paint will accentuate rather than hide any blemishes. Not just smooth but fair. Long hours of long-board sanding to eliminate hollows and lumps. A lot of pros add a little flattener to the paint to give some"hide".
Also, spraying LP paints (Imron, Awlgrip), can be dangerous. Supplied air respirators must be used or the drill will be : Spray, spray, fall down dead.

·
19,488 Posts
First, a clarification is required. Do you really mean 'topsides' (ie the hull between the waterline and the gunwales) or do you mean cabintop/deck/cockpit? Sorry if you've got it right but it's a common confusion.