SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone!
I am a beginner sailor. I just acquire a 1978 O'DAY 30 and this season will be my first. I am looking for a couple to sail with me and my wife to Provincetown on the July 4th weekend, leaving from Warwick RI You will need to captain the boat since i have never sailed this far by myself. Anyone interested?
PS: How hard is this passage ?

Fair Winds
Gladson
SV MarJul

·
Registered
21,593 Posts
It’s a very straight forward passage. Of course, one would be wise to insure it’s done during good weather and not be on a mandatory schedule. Current in Buzzards Bay and the Cape Cod Canal are important planning items. You must motor through the canal.

Hope you find the help.

·
Registered
101 Posts
It’s a very straight forward passage. Of course, one would be wise to insure it’s done during good weather and not be on a mandatory schedule. Current in Buzzards Bay and the Cape Cod Canal are important planning items. You must motor through the canal.

Hope you find the help.
What Minnewaska said. Plan ahead with those currents. Buzzards Bay is easy, but take that 0.5-1 knot current (in favour and against) in your ETA calculation for reaching the Cape Cod Canal. You Must enter the canal at the appropriate time.

Planning any stops? I have done Portsmouth RI - Marion MA a few times, back and forth. This can take 10hours or more (if you plan to sail). Plan for light winds, and suddenly could rise to 20-25kn...It's Buzzards Bay. Spinnaker? That's a good option going up the bay in summer.

Leaving Newport you can have some swelling system until you are more protected by the Elizabeth islands. A little of excitement.

·
Registered
4,908 Posts
My take:

This is a pretty long sail for your boat... more than 100nm each way