SailNet Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello world! First post. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

My wife and I are tech professionals in SF and beginning to plan a liveaboard year at some point down the road (likely within the next couple of years). We're not in a rush to buy, but we are starting to do our homework.

I've got some questions below that I'd love to get answered (or if anyone knows of existing posts about these topics, would love the links).

Questions:

1) We have a family of 4 adults and 1 young child. We're thinking that a 45' cat is the right size for us. We've chartered some 39-40 foot cats and they seem too small. Wanted to get everyone's thoughts on size. Ideally we'd like to find the newest, smallest boat we can afford.

2) The new Alpha 42 (can't include a link to it since i'm a newbie user; just google it) seems like a very interesting cat, with composite materials and built in USA. Does anyone have any experience with it? Is their approach using composite materials really all that much different from other boats? We wish it were a bit larger though; does anyone know if they're planning a bigger 45'ish boat?

3) The boat we think we're most interested in is either a new Lagoon 450S, or a used Lagoon 440. How would anyone compare those two boats? Would you recommend buying a bristol(ish) condition used Lagoon 440 (i'm thinking 2010 range) over a newer 450? Or even a new 450S over both those options? How important is it to buy a new boat vs. a well maintained used boat? We generally prefer to buy used but the Lagoon resale market seems strong which is making us consider buying new.

4) Are there other cat brands people would recommend over the Lagoon? We'd like to keep the purchase price under $500k, and if we can keep it under $300k (like for a Lagoon 440) that would be ideal.