SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys and Gals,

I am new to posting but far from new to this forum. The time has come, I am buying my first "bigger" boat.

I cannot decide betwen a 1982 San Juan 34 or a 1973 C&C 39.

The C&C is a proven racer and not easy to single hand, while the San Juan is also fast, it is a fair bit more set up for single handed fast cruising. I am new to racing but have many experienced friends and wish to get involved in our local racing scene.

I am from the Puget Sound area so light wind performance is a big plus. I also do plan on living on the boat part time.

As a new user I cannot post links, but the boats are both available at: Marine Service Center in seattle.

Any discussion will be very helpful!

·
Registered
1,182 Posts
choices and options

Consider the Crown 34. It came from the same mold as the SJ34 but was better built.
Ah Yup. The SJ was not built to the same standards as the Crown product (or a C&C).
I note that there is a C&C34 for sale in Seattle now, and a Maxi also.
Then there's this deal on another modern classic, up North of you a ways...
E 35II for sale - EY.o Information Exchange

Happy hunting,
L

·
19,489 Posts
The Sceptre 36 is a reworked Crown 34 - another option if that's what you really want. Agree these two are likely better, the older C&C 39 is an interesting, classic boat but I suspect the Crown/Sceptre is a bit more nimble and may well have more space below too. The 39 may not be quite so prone to the typical IOR downwind dance.

The C&C 34 would be rather a different beast from the older 39 - on many levels. Also a nice boat, though.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the input! Sadly I have looked around and cannot find the crown nor the sceptre in my area, I think my question was more specific to these two boats, if you google marine Servicenter seattle you can see these two boats.