SailNet Community banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
980 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Okay, so I've been boat shopping. This one wasn't at the top of my list of desired boats, but the owner is a friend who has to get rid of it quick and dropped the price to a third of the asking ($1,500). Seeing as how I'm new to sailing and boat owner ship, I'd like see what you guys thought. It's a bit of a fixer-up, but I'm prepared and actually looking forward to spending time getting her spiffed up.

1971 O-day 22' includes some worn sails and trailer. I'm told the Bottom Paint is somewhat new. The lines are old, but look usable. The boat itself looks like it's been sitting un-touched on the trailer for awhile. Tires are low/flat. The deck really needs paint. There are a few voids on the transom.. and probably 30 other small things need fixing

There is standing water in the cabin. Not a lot, and it appears to be entering through the companionway hatch that isn't very secure. Should be a simple fix (or tarp it)

I noticed this void where the trailer attaches. I assume it's not serious?

·
Registered
5,678 Posts
Yup.... appears to be the same boat. The price was negotiated to $1,500.
Based on the description of its condition that MikeAR and now you provided, that seems steep, to me. Others may feel differently.

Like I said in the other thread, more than a dozen years ago someone gave a similar vintage OD22 with working outboard to my brother for FREE. It was in much better condition, but no trailer. They were done with it and wanted it moved.

·
Registered
73 Posts
I looked at that boat recently and felt it was way over-priced at the asking price of $2500.
I saw many problems that needed repair immediately. Much would need to be done before it could get back into the water.
It's the same boat mentioned in my earlier post.