SailNet Community banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Sometimes it seems the lobster buoys in our local area are thick enough to walk across, and it requires constant vigilance and effort to avoid them. The fin keel/spade rudder of our HR-28 seem custom designed to snare them too. When we do inevitably catch one (avg 2-3 per season) it's usually a lot of work to untangle it, and in some conditions can be dangerous as well.

As a result, I've given some thought to how to even the odds a bit, short of trading it for a full keel boat, of course. But since I'm still a bit of a noob to the whole boating thing, and I've not seen anything else written about this, I'm guessing these are probably not very good ideas even though it seems simple enough.

Method 1: Attach some type of rigid guard to the keel, perhaps made of fiberglass, which would help a line slide past the rudder.

Method 2: Attach a cable of some type to the bottom of both the keel and rudder. On the rudder a swivel of some sort would be used, attached to the pivot point.

Any thoughts, criticisms, insults or alternatives will be gladly accepted.

·
Registered
7,220 Posts
Interesting how much drag even a thin line will produce . They make a simple wedge fitting to put just in front of rudder . Some sharpen leading edge . Personally haven't done it but have cutter on shaft

·
Registered
1,105 Posts
Your first idea isn't bad you may be on to something there!.How would you work travel lift straps?...Dale

·
Registered
5,111 Posts
I've been using a light Spectra line between the keel and rudder for years, particularly when I head for Maine... hard to say how effective it's been up there, I generally try to avoid the pots to begin with, but I've never caught one up there when I've had that setup rigged...