SailNet Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5,169 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Amazon.com: Weems & Plath Marine Navigation Protractor Triangle with Handle: Sports & Outdoors

I just bought this protractor triangle and it seems to be very handy.
I've tried all the other products, parallel rules etc and they all work fine on a chart table.

The protractor triangle seems like it will work on a knee.
Just keep the chart folded to best place.
Put the hypotenuse of the triangle on your course line.
Line up the center convergence point with a vertical line.
Read the degrees on the outside edge of the scale on that same line.
Pick either high or low numbers for either coming or going.
For me I add 15 to get magnetic and I have a course within one degree.
Easier to read than unfolding the chart and finding a rose then walking something over.

I haven't tried it on a boat yet but it looks promising.

·
moderate?
1,000 Posts
This is MY favorite tool...it is all you need to plot any course on any chart on any surface, or read a heading true or magnetic of a drawn course.
ANY of this can be done is 10 seconds or less with no other tools except a pencil and NO calculation. It is Weems protractor #255.

·
Registered
4,507 Posts
This is MY favorite tool...it is all you need to plot any course on any chart on any surface, or read a heading true or magnetic of a drawn course.
ANY of this can be done is 10 seconds or less with no other tools except a pencil and NO calculation. It is Weems protractor #255.

Cam is 100% right with this. I took his advice and bought the 255. It is fantastic !! Hands down the best tool for navigation.

·
Registered
2,705 Posts
Yep, got the same one as Cam and Freesail. It revolutionised my plotting ability.

·
Registered
3,070 Posts
As a Professional Mariner, I prefer the triangle. Two of them in fact. I can plot faster with them then you can with parallel rulers.