SailNet Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
Newbie here, so I'm not sure I'm in the right Thread/Community at all, but "Sailnet" seems to be a good place to start... :)
I have a question about Junk rigs. Mainly, the sail. I have Van Loan's book "The Chinese Sailing Rig - Design and Build Your Own Junk Rig", and I have also looked at some designs out there. They seem to have the sail as one single piece of cloth. But I also seem to recall (maybe from Annie Hill's book? I don't remember) that an advantage of the Junk is that it's easily fixed if the sail rips, one could just exchange the damaged part/section in question, and a rip would not continue into neighboring sail sections. Which to me means that every "section" is its own piece of cloth, separately lashed to its respective battens. So... which one is it? Has anyone sailed and/or built a junk?
Please note that this is not a question to the "validity", or usability, or usefulness, or sense of a junk, merely a technical request for input.
Thank you. Please let me know if this was not the right forum to post a question like this.

·
Registered
496 Posts
I had a Benford 34 years ago with a junk rig - similar to the one in the book - mine was one piece cloth not sections stitched together - but still think it would be an easy fix if there was a problem - biggest issue - getting sails up was a bear - the sails are attached via line with rollers - but still lots of binding going up - not an easy rig to go out for a short daysail - the boat was slow but seaworthy - sold it to a young guy who took it to the Caribbean - always wondered what happen to it - Moondancer was the name and had a red hull - good boat for a passage - just wasn't a good daysailor or weekend boat

·
Administrator
Farr 11.6 (Farr 38)
9,750 Posts